Wisconsin ($$) vs OUWB ($) vs UW ($)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jrcomsto

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I think I have narrowed down my acceptances to these three choices. Just looking for some advice/opinions about picking a school for financial reasons. I of course am not certain about a specialty, but right now I am very interested in derm. I'm a resident of a WWAMI state.

Wisconsin:
PROS- If money was no object, I would for sure go here. I love Madison, have family there, and really felt like the school was a great fit for me. Opportunities for great research as well as opportunities for away rotations in more rural areas of Wisconsin. I like the idea of having access to a large tertiary care hospital (UW Hospital) and also seeing what care is like in rural areas.

CONS - I would graduate from Wisconsin with about 55K in debt (I have some personal finances that will cover the rest of the cost.) My S.O will be moving with me next year and he is still working on his undergrad so he would have to pay out of state tuition to attend Madison.
- Housing in Madison is relatively expensive.

Oakland University
PROS - I have a scholarship offer here and would graduate with about 20K in debt. My S.O is a Michigan resident and we would be near his family. I really liked the students and facilities at OUWB and Rochester Hills and Royal Oak is a pretty nice area.

CONS - I'm worried about lack of research opportunities. This is a new MD program and I'm worried about matching to a competitive specialty (if that's the route I end up choosing).

WWAMI

PROS - Cost. Would graduate with about 20K in debt. UW has a great reputation.