Work experience or SMP?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ran-shaw

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just wanted to know what medicals school find more attractive: work experience or a better GPA at an SMP program? I will be applying next year, but in the meantime I wanted to know what to do. I'm a reapplicant, I got no interviews or acceptances last cycle and I want to know what will help me most for the next cycle. Here's some basic stats:

cGPA: 3.55, sGPA: 3.47
MCAT: 29 (2013, 11 VS, 10 BS, 8, PS) and 27 (2014, 10 VS, 9 BS, 8 PS) The first one was without prep, then i studied on my own and the score fell! I plan on taking it again, and will make this one count (I'm gonna enroll in a course and study for longer and do more practice)
ECs:
-research for two years, published
-RA for a year
-I started volunteering at a hospital and by the time I apply hope to have 200 hours (at 25 in one month so far)
-I shadowed two doctors (PCP, orthopedist) but I am currently looking for more doctors to shadow.
-volunteered with student ambulance at school and am an EMT (over 100 hours)
-extensive work with non-clinical organizations: a charity that works to educate young women aboard, and another that helps providers adopt EHRs
LORs: I've got 3 strong ones before committee letter

So i've got a job offer as a clinical research coordinator, but my prehealth advisor thinks I should do an SMP on top of retaking MCAT and other ECs. So what would be best is those gap years: the job or an SMP to boost my chances of looking more attractive to med schools? I want to take the job, but the SMP claims to have 90-95% of it's graduates get into med school, and a friend who attended said it was great. Help? I've got to say yes or no to the job by tomorrow!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
A better MCAT score will make you more viable as a candidate. A downward trend is not good.