Working as a veterinary assistant in undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Creature_Feature

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Right now I'm a first year undergrad, I volunteer at a shelter where they are pretty much training me to be a veterinary assistant, I monitor animals post surgery, help prep them, assemble surgery packs, etc. I also work about 25-27 hours a week as a barista. I really hate my job as a barista and am hoping to land a job as an assistant.

I know volunteering is something pretty much all pre-vets do, but how many pre-vets actually work as veterinary assistants while in school? How do you like the experience? Do you feel it's confirmed your decision to go to vet school? Do you find it leaves an ok amount of room for you to focus on school? How many days/hours do you work a week? What are your responsibilities?

I'm thinking working as a VA while in school would kill two birds with one stone, I could quit my other job and get clinical experience at the same time... Only thing I'm worried about is potentially burning out and not having time to study. Does anyone think admissions would somehow look down on too many clinical hours?? Do they differentiate between volunteer/shadowing hours vs working hours?

PS, did a search didn't find answers to my specific questions. Most threads were people considering getting a vet tech degree.

Members don't see this ad.

I can't speak for myself, but I know that a lot of people around here worked as veterinary assistants while in school. Everyone is going to be different about whether or not certain amounts of work will leave time for school... for some people, it will and for others it will not. There are people who work throughout undergrad, full time and manage to make it work.