worth the risk of Retaking the MCAT? sGPA=3.84; cGPA=3.86; MCAT=512 (87 percentile) but low CARS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheReds9

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on this forum! But I took the September 23rd MCAT and received my score two days ago. This the breakdown of my score

Overall = 512 --> 87 percentile
C/P = 129 --> 93 percentile
CARS = 124 --> 44 percentile
Bio = 129 --> 93 percentile
Psych = 130 --> 97 percentile

My science GPA is 3.84. My cumulative GPA is 3.86. I have been in a research lab for 1.5 years. By the time I apply, I will have volunteered roughly 100 hours, shadowed most likely 50 hours, and worked as a scribe for 500+ hours.

I understand that my overall score is good but the section that I am most worried about is my CARS. I did not think I did this poorly on it (but sadly I did). I also understand that if I were to retake the exam and did the same or even worse that this would actually hurt my application even more. So, is it worth retaking the exam?

PS. I have never really felt confident in my reading abilities.

Members don't see this ad.

It all depends on where you are applying to. Your CARS score is roughly a 7-8 on the old MCAT according to the table below. You should be find applying to low-tier schools and DO schools. If you retake it and do worse overall, that would be bad. I personally would not risk it with that score/GPA and I would apply to as many schools (MD/DO) as I could. Note: I'm not the most qualified individual to be giving you advice, so I'd hear from some other people. :)
upload_2015-10-29_17-39-39.png

Reference: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/thr...centile-comparison-conversion-tables.1143689/

Last edited:
Some schools I am applying to are:
University of Washington (state resident of Washington)
OHSU
UNC
Michigan (reach)
Washington University of St. Louis (reach)
Pittsburgh (reach)