Menu Icon Search
Close Search

About the ads

Would a Doctorate Be Beneficial to Me?

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by mrscruff, 10.26.11.

1. mrscruff

mrscruff

Psychology Student

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Hello, Everyone.

I am an undergraduate Psychology major with a dream to become a licensed professional counselor with mental health service designation (LPC-MHSP) in TN. Currently, I am debating whether or not to go for a doctorate in a counseling-related program. I would appreciate it if you all would advise me concerning my questions:

1. According to the Bureau of Labor and Statistics, Mental Health Counselor jobs are expected to see 21-24% growth (much faster than average, while Counseling Psychology positions will see only 12% growth (average). In light of this, would it be safe to say that masters-level training is more than adequate to find a stable job?

2. I have a GRE score of 1200, a GPA of 3.94, and an imminent opportunity to conduct my own research under a professor's supervision. Also, I am a Black male -- a poorly represented group within the counseling profession (according to various sources in my literature review for my experiemental class proposal). In light of this information, how would my application be received if I happened to apply to a doctoral program?

3. Do clients typically look down upon counselors without terminal degrees? I have heard that sometimes clients think one "gave up" by not getting a Ph.D. of some sort.

4. How difficult is it to start a private practice with a masters degree versus a doctorate?

5. *This one is for masters-level counselors* How content have you been with your career? Have you ever had regrets about not having a doctorate?

Thank you all in advance for your responses! :D

2. wigflip

wigflip

SDN 2+ Year Member
    This might depend on what region of the country you hope to practice in. You may benefit from searching earlier threads on this as well.