Would becoming a CNA help me any?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I'm a freshman in highschool. I've wanted to become a vet for as long as I could remember.

Though my local Vo-Tech I can become a CNA over the course of 3 years and everything besides my uniform will be paid for by the school. I think this would be a good way to get some medical experience, and I'd be a CNA so I could get a good job during college.

Does anyone think I should do this? Opinions would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a freshman in highschool. I've wanted to become a vet for as long as I could remember.

Though my local Vo-Tech I can become a CNA over the course of 3 years and everything besides my uniform will be paid for by the school. I think this would be a good way to get some medical experience, and I'd be a CNA so I could get a good job during college.

Does anyone think I should do this? Opinions would be appreciated.

It would certainly be a unique experience that not every veterinary applicant would possess, but I think I would recommend focusing on getting veterinary experience first and foremost. If you already had a significant amount of veterinary experience behind you, I might say this might be a good idea to give you a bit of a competitive edge, but being that you're a freshman in high school I doubt that's the case quite yet. I got my first job at an animal hospital during my freshman year of high school. Try seeing if you can find something like that first!

I think it most definitely would help. It shows you are good handling bloody, high-stress, long-term goals. Plus, as sheltermed commented, it's unique. I wouldn't count it out.

Members don't see this ad :)
I see a lot of factors here: