Would like some advice/critique

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

megaman1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated college about 2 years ago and ended up with 3.2 BCPM cumulative GPA and a 3.7 AO cumulative GPA, and my overall cumulative GPA is 3.35. I had 3 years of uptrending GPA for my science classes from a 2.5 to 3.3 to a 3.6 and then dropped to a 3.0 my last year while my other non BCPM classes were from a 3.31 to a 3.34 to a 3.7 to a 4.0. I applied for postbac programs and no places would accept me, so I'm planning on doing my own informal postbac at a UC school. I'm going to strive for a 4.0 for my informal postbac. My goal is to pursue an MD, and was wondering if it's possible at all if I choose to apply to schools out of state of in state. I don't want to try this out and get nothing from it except more loans. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend getting that cGPA to at least a 3.5. You do not need a formal program. You can take courses at a CC, UC extension school, or Cal state. However, many MD schools do not accept CC or online credits so be aware of that. If you are a CA resident, the state schools will be difficult but there are plenty of OOS private schools that accept a large amount of CA applicants every year.

Reactions: 1 user
this is a bit of a thread hijack, but I notice a lot of people say its hard even as a CA resident to get into CA schools. Is that b/c the ratio of schools to state residents is just bad or does CA not favor it's own residents or?

Members don't see this ad :)
Comparing the 4 most populous states:

....total.......total....public....total
....population..MD apps..MD seats..MD seats
CA....39144818.....6520.......729......1232
TX....27469114.....4254......1579......1579
FL....20271272.....3324.......937.......937
NY....19795791.....3585.......624......1886

..public seats...total seats..public seats..total seats