Would medical schools care if I graduated a semester early to save money?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JoyKim456

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been thinking if I should get a job in order to save up money for medical school. But then I realized that I should just graduate a semester early. I have 20 AP credits and I can just take 16-20 units every semester. On one hand, I will be better prepared to handle medical school. On the other, I would be able to save up a lot of money AND get a good job for 5-6 months.

Members don't see this ad.

I doubt it. I had a friend who graduated a semester early after he got his med school acceptance in fall. He spent the 6 months traveling.

Members don't see this ad :)
They won't care as long as you graduated.

Reactions: 1 user
Also realize that it's unlikely you will get a decent paying job for those 5-6 months off. Even if you have a college degree, nobody is going to hire you for a well-paid position when they know you're just going to be leaving.

Don't let your GPA sacrifice for taking too many classes per semester, but if you can graduate early by pushing yourself then do it.

I graduated an entire year early (with good grades and a double major). It was a great choice for me, and no schools mentioned it/cared :)

I would love to travel for 6 month :arghh:

I graduated an entire year early (with good grades and a double major). It was a great choice for me, and no schools mentioned it/cared :)
+1. Granted, it came up in interviews. But that was merely to question my motivations for doing so. I gave a reasonable answer and have had no issues.

Also realize that it's unlikely you will get a decent paying job for those 5-6 months off. Even if you have a college degree, nobody is going to hire you for a well-paid position when they know you're just going to be leaving.