Yet another research dilemma! Are publications really that important?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mbe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for any advice on my situation- please help me out.
MS2 here, working in a skin cancer lab continuing my summer work. This is getting published and my name will be on it. (sth like 3rd or 4th author so not that significant) After this, I was thinking of asking my PI for my own independent project.
But last week, I got to know this research fellow in the genetic skin disease group next door, and after realising I was a medical student, he told me that if I ever get bored of skin cancers, I can work on genetic skin diseases, and specifically mentioned publication opportunities even for med students. Not like 'yeah if you work hard, you might get a publication', but something like 'medical students have worked in our lab before and they have a good tract record of getting their names on publications..'

Now here is the dilemma: I know skin cancers are classed more as 'dermatology' but I'm quite interested in cancer in general and will probably want to specialize in heme/onc. I was thinking at least doing skin cancer work will kinda show my interest in cancer when applying for a research year which I'm thinking of taking. But the research fellow in the genetic skin disease group was basically hinting that if I join his group, I will be guaranteed to land publications. (It is a bigger lab than the skin cancer group) So should I switch over? Which will be worth more, showing my interest in cancer or publications in areas not related to where I see myself going in the next few years?