Your Opinion - Non Traditional & CC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmky

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well, my first semester comes to an end tomorrow and something has been on my mind. I am 30 years old, and this was my first semester in school (Other than 2 Math classes last summer in order to take Calc I this semester).

I've taken 17 hours and did pretty well considering I've never attended school after highschool in '97. All A's except one class with a B (A&P), unless I pull off a pretty good final tomorrow. (Yes, I am studying - just taking my break)

Anyways, I am worried that even with all this effort my plan may still have some bumps along the way.

My plan: This semester I've taken 17 hours, and Spring Semester I am taking 19. I am going to take my PCAT this summer and start applying to schools for the entering class 2010. I have about 5-6 schools in mind. Also, during my winter break, I plan to go ahead and take my PTCB test. (I heard that it wouldn't hurt). I have experience at a community pharmacy here locally, and spending some time shadowing at a nuclear pharmacy.

So, my plan looks okay right? But, here's the thing - I am attending a Community College to do my pre-pharm courses. I see a lot of folks on here downplaying credits earned at a Community College vs. University. (To be fair though, I also see folks defending CC) Again, I am 30 years old, have a family, and the closest university to me is about a 45 minute drive. So, in your opinion, what do you think? Is this doable or am I crazy in thinking that I may have a chance in getting accepted at a pharmacy school with my short time at a community college.

* I understand that the only people that can give me the "real" answers are the admission folks at the colleges I plan to apply to, but I am simply seeking input from you all. *

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.