Please recommend a stethoscope

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

costanza

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Will start intern in July.

Members don't see this ad.

drg puretone ti-lite is what i use. littmann cardiology iii is good too, basically the industry standard .

drg puretone cardiology ti-lite is what i use. littmann cardiology iii is good too, basically the industry standard.

Members don't see this ad :)
How did you get through med school without a stethoscope? :confused:

costanza said:
Will start intern in July.

About 4 months ago my wife bought me a Littmann master cardiology black and it's fantastic. I'm a 2nd year resident and have had 2 previous stethoscopes including the Littmann cardiology, and the Littmann classic II. I can tell a real difference with the master cardiology black. Plus it looks kind of cool.

Do FP's use their adult stethescope for all their patients including the kids?

jeff2005 said:

I have a Littmann Pediatric for the little kids.

jeff2005 said:

I honestly don't think it makes that much of a difference and I wouldn't purchase a pediatric stethoscope. When you see newborns in the nursery, they will have stethoscopes there. In the office, you can get away with using an adult stethoscope, although some adults stethoscopes have pediatric adapters.

Stethoscope???

2-D Echo with bubble study followed by CT Chest, Ab, Pelvis.

Surprisingly, that "toy" stethoscope looks almost exactly like the ones that many nurses use, and probably works about as well. ;)

stethoscope-a.gif

Members don't see this ad :)
I have a philips cardiology. was told by a cardiologist that that's the one to get. same price as litmans. don't know if they still make them. and it comes with 3 removable bell/drum pieces for adult, peds, neonatal.