AP Credit Problems

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

realitybias

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have AP credit for the following classes, and I want to know which classes I should retake to avoid being denied entry to medical school:

Chemistry 120
History 201, 202
English 101, 102, 201
German 101
Computer science 101
(and I am also going to get free credit due to my ACT score for math up to calculus 1)

I would also like to say that my major is biomedical engineering, so I am expecting to take at least up to calculus 2, maybe 3.

Thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

I had ap credit for a lot of classes as well. I took credit for the first gen chemistry class and most (all that I applied to) took this as one of the two pre med requirements for gen chem. I also used ap cred for math calc I. You will certainly learn the material better in college compared with AP classes, but you really dont need to take them again in college as you might get bored or slack (as I did in a couple) and your grade could unnecessarily suffer. Feel free to Priv Msg me if you want more info.

Check out the AP policies for the schools in which you would be interested in applying. Looking at your list, the only thing that I would recommend is either repeated gen chem or taking another upper level inorganic chemistry. The other classes are not as important as are the core sciences for what medical schools look for with grades.

I also came in with a lot of AP credits, and the only one that I'm retaking is Physics. Everything else was either humanities or gen bio and I'm a bio major so that one doesn't matter.

Members don't see this ad :)
I already retook my General Chemistry class. I took English since I didn't AP out. CS probably isn't going to matter, languages I doubt, History I doubt.