Thoughts on Lawyer to Doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ekco

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, just wanted to give a bit of background then get some input from you other non-traditionals, although I may not be completely non-traditional. While in undergrad, I had every intent of going to medical school. I majored in Biology on the Pre-Med track with a Chemistry minor, took the MCAT (I think it was a 31...9P, 10B, 12V) and applied to three schools. ECU, UNC and Wake. Rejected at UNC and ECU, waitlisted and eventually accepted at Wake. But for some reason I decided to take the LSAT, did great and went to law school.

Now I've been out for a couple of years, working as a Patent Attorney and well...I hate it. lol I constantly think about medicine and but for meeting my wife while in law school, it was definitely not one of my better decisions. Now here I am at 26, thinking of taking the MCAT this summer and hoping to matriculate in 2008 at the young age of 28....and already with 6-digits of law school debt. Am I crazy??? Maybe...but all I know is over Christmas one of my wife's friends who just got in this past year was talking about her gross anatomy class and I was eating it up like candy as she talked about it all....I've been thinking about it for awhile, but I obviously have some financial concerns...the thought of no paycheck for 4 years while student loans mount is not comforting...yet I can't get the thought out of my brain.

I've basically told myself that if I am going to do it, I have to do it soon as it won't get easier as I get older, debt or no debt. At the very least take the MCAT again and have that ready to go if the wife agrees not to leave me. :cool: