Pre-med to Pre-dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whoispittsnogle

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi,

i am a class of 2008 graduate pre-med who was in the midst of applying to medical schools this summer when i had a sudden change of heart. i have researched a decent amount in the forum and it seemed like the only thing i needed to make the switch from pre-med to pre-dental, aside from the obvious dat, was shadowing experience. so i have started doing that and will complete 100 hours as well as a LOR from the dentist seeing that some schools require that. my other LORs, i'm just going to contact my profs and ask them to alter it to fit dental instead of medical. it looks like my pre-med activities such as volunteering and research will work fine so that's a huge plus.

as for the question of it is too late to apply...it seemed to me the consensus is to submit your application asap and before you take your dat? i'm sure changing the LORs will take some time but i can definitely do the application and the personal statement soon enough. but i was under the impression that your app can be complete without a dat score but not without LORs? i was planning on submitting the app in a week or so but i think having all my LORs in would take longer? does that mean there's no point in submitting my app early? i'll probably take the dat early august.

also another concern was that dental schools frown upon pre-meds who have switched? i got a 35 on the mcat so it's not like i am a med school reject switching to dental.
i know pre-dental students don't particularly like pre-med students but i am truly coming here for some real advice. please enlighten an ignorant pre-med!

Members don't see this ad.