School reputation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VeganChick

Tufts University V'13
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
On the Pre-Allo site, there is a whole thread about why Caribbean schools are so bad, most of which talks about how they will accept anybody and they are always a last resort. My vet told me one time that I should not go to one.

As they say, perception = reality. Are Caribbean schools really seen as producing "second class" vets? In trying to get a job later, is there a stigma to having graduated from one?

Members don't see this ad.

The specialty practice that I volunteer at has a vet from a caribbean school in their VERY competative residency program. Not sure how much to draw from that , but I am inclined to think being in the caribean didn't affect her too much.

Yeah, I'm currently a technician at a huge, well respected specialty/emergency/critical care practice. Each year a group of interns comes through, and it's apparently very competitive. One of our current interns is a Ross graduate, and she's amazing. So, it didn't hurt her chances, obviously, and she's definitely not a "second class" vet.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it can vary a lot. I think you will find many people who don't believe in the stigma surrounding them and many who do. If Ross is your only option right now and you really can't or don't want to wait, I would go for it. Transferring is always a possibility. I worked with a vet who went to Ross and then transferred to Kansas after his second year. So technically he has a degree from Kansas. I understand all Ross students go to a US school their 4th year and it doesn't mean their degree is from that school-- but this particular doctor did transfer after his second year and he holds a very high paying job that he is very dedicated to as a lab animal vet. I asked him if "it matters where you go at all" and his answer was a firm no.