want to MD after completing DVM degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hafizqadeer1137

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am doing DVM(final year) in pakistan, after it i want to go towards human practice by doing MD after completing my DVM degree, plz guide me about it,

how long is MD after completing DVM degree,

universities in UK offer MD after DVM degree,
what is total tutition fee and duration of MD,

plz guide me
[email protected]

Members don't see this ad.

Well I'm by no means an expert on this, but since no one has replied yet I'll give you some general thoughts on getting an M.D. from a school in the U.S..

First, I would assume that since you will have a DVM from Pakistan you have completed an undergraduate degree. Medical schools in the U.S. require a B.A., B.S., or the equivalent to apply. The M.D. program is 4 years, and tuition varies but as an international applicant I would give you a range of $36,000 to $60,000 per year not including living expenses (add another $10-20,000/year for room and board, etc). After you receive your M.D. you need between 1 and 2 years minimum of post-graduate training to obtain an unrestricted medical license from a state, but most graduates complete a residency of between 3 and 8 or so years before getting a job.

Another option would be to get your M.D. from Pakistan or another nation outside the United States and then try to enter the U.S. medical residency match program as an IMG (international medical graduate, I think). Do you want to practice in the U.S., U.K., or Pakistan?

So basically to answer your questions, you need 4 years and between 200 and $300,000 dollars to get your M.D. (most people take out loans for this). Good luck.

To correct myself, you would be a FMG (foreign medical graduate) not an IMG. IMG's are U.S. citizens that graduated from an international medical school.

Members don't see this ad :)