Psychiatry or Clinical Psychology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Everglow

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a BSc, majored in physiology and pharmacology, and minored, albeit heavily, in psychology. My original intent when going into university was to go to medical school, but late in my third year, I randomly took a psych class really enjoyed it. I did decent in all of my pre med courses.

So, in my final year I convinced myself that I wanted to do a PhD in clinical psych instead of doing medicine. I've done research work in both medicine (gastroenterology) and in experimental psychology. I've sort of enjoyed the process, but at the same time, I'm pretty sure that I'm not a researcher at heart. Don't get me wrong, It's great that we have researchers pushing the boundaries of what we know, but I know that a research focused career is really not for me.

If I do a PhD, I get to learn a lot about psychological theory which really fascinates me. Obviously clinical psychologists get plenty of therapy training which is awesome. But on the down side I'd have to do a lot of research to get there, which, as I mentioned, I have some, but not an overwhelming, interest in. They get paid a lot less, are in less demand compared to psychiatrists and don't have the same knowledge of the medical model.

To do an MD, I have to wade through medical school. I'm not super interested in some other areas of medicine, like OBG, peds etc. However, I'm fascinated by endocrinology, psychosomatic medicine and pharmacology. Nonetheless, it seems daunting. Furthermore, and correct me if I'm wrong, psychiatrists get much less therapy and psychological theory training. From what I understand, you guys focus heavily on the biomedical model, which I am interested in, but at the same time, I don't want to miss out on the "psychology" of mental illness.