Enough osteopathic residencies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zach175

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a newly admitted student for osteopathic medicine for the class of 2016 and can't wait to get started in the Fall.

I had a question though regarding residency positions. Hypothetically, what would happen if the AMA ever decided to stop allowing DO students to the ACGME residencies? This is the one thing I guess I don't understand enough. DO residencies don't allow MD students, but ACGME residencies allow both.

Knowing that, what would be the explanation as to why it is very unlikely that DO students would ever be denied from applying to ACGME residencies?

Would there be enough DO residencies to cover things? Is this extremely unlikely to ever happen?

Members don't see this ad.

There are currently about enough DO residencies to hold 1/2 of all osteopathic medical students.
Why is this the case and why are some programs sub-par? I am entering c/o 2016 and I just don't get why there aren't adequate DO residency programs.

Members don't see this ad :)
AOA would rather make more schools than worry about what happens to students post med school.

Don't worry they are working for YOU! They had that in one of their emails what a joke.

Many of the DO residencies aren't as good because they aren't in big med centers or universities. So I imagine you have less range of patients, research opportunities, and what not.

Plus if your interested in cards or another field that requires a fellow there are not many of them.

Why not try and do MD IM, and Cards. They are trying to pass the new rule that you can't do a AOA IM res and then ACGME cards fellow.

Last edited:
I'm a newly admitted student for osteopathic medicine for the class of 2016 and can't wait to get started in the Fall.