Should I Go To Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

questioningmed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

A little about me: I am 25 years old, female, recently married, and have a Masters of Health Administration and a BS in Biology. I live in a moderately large city where I own 2 properties and am building a business with my husband. Our incomes combined are ~$110,000, although I'm not sure if my employment will continue after October because it is grant funded. After finishing grad school, I started working at a hospital under a grant funded position and decided to try my hand at applying to medical school. All through 2011, I studied for the MCAT. I got the score I needed. I applied to one (and only one) medical school and was accepted. I thought that was perfect because school would start in August and I was going to be "losing" my job in October anyway. In many ways, I am extremely blessed. Both my husband and I come from extremely abusive and poor backgrounds, so we know how lucky we are in building our success and in me being offered an opportunity to attend medical school.

The problem is, I'm not 100% I want to go. Even when I was applying, I had the attitude of "it if happens, it happens." I felt very calm. When I got accepted, I was excited, but not over the moon. I really need some advice about what to do. I DON'T NEED OR WANT snarky or immature comments.