1st Year Struggles

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

susier

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey! I am a first year medical student and am having a tough time with the course. I was always very smart at highschool and whilst I always worked exceptionally hard, I never had any real troubles with my coursework. Since starting at medical school in September, my grades have dropped dramatically and I failed one exam and passed another by 2%. No matter what I try I can't seem to remember anything I study and I have a really tough time trying to get everything into my head (which I usually end up forgetting again very soon). It takes me about 3 hours to get through each lecture and this just isn't practical because there physically is not enough hours in the day for this. I have my mid semester exams on Monday and I am extremely behind just now and have a very poor knowledge of my coursework despite the fact I have been practically living in the library all semester. If anyone has any tips or advice to help me out I would be extremely grateful as right not I am starting to worry that I am not going to be able to make it through med school.

Members don't see this ad.

Let me preface this by saying that it's extremely difficult to gauge strengths/weaknesses of your study habits without knowing you personally or having a more in-depth conversation.