2.94 ug GPA + SMP 3.5 grad GPA at Drexel

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

giggles15

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have completed the Drexel Master's program MSP + IMS.
I have 7 years experience as an ER tech working per diem drawing blood, doing EKG's, taking vital signs
2 years volunteer experience at a non-profit organization
ugrad GPA on my AMCAS is 2.94
summer research experience in grad school
2 year research experience in undergrad
graduate GPA 3.5 I've gotten all A's and B's in medical school courses
My MCAT was very borderline bs 10 vr 8 ps 10
I plan to retake august 6th

I would really appreciate any help or advice any of you might have.

Members don't see this ad.

I was able to find these fairly reassuring statistics about Drexel IMS. Your odds should be good since you exceeded a 3.0 GPA:

Drexel IMS: Interdepartmental Medical Science (IMS) Program
Hosted by: Office of Professional Studies in Health Sciences
Year started: 1981
Med school integration: 6 medical school courses, graded against the med school curve
Program duration: one year
Program starts: early August
Program ends: mid-June
Thesis requirement: none
Tuition: 22650 IS/OOS '08
Min GPA: ?
Min MCAT: ?
Class size: 140
App cost: $65.00
App opens: ?
App closes: Jul 10
MCAT prep: no
Promises: B's in SMP and 27 MCAT guarantee Drexel interview. 60% to 85% w/B's or higher accepted somewhere during SMP year, 80% to 92% w/B's or higher total accepted somewhere.

I don't know how old this is (got it from the post-bac forum). Do the stats vary from what they told you? Don't they have an advisor who helps you target appropriate schools and get good reference letters? Why wait so long to retake the MCAT when you application would then be complete on the late side?