2 year break before medical school. I need advice on what to do!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vickyrawly

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
x

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It doesn't sound like you have a compelling reason to go to graduate school, so why do you think that's the best option and only option you're asking about?

Do whatever you enjoy. There are plenty of things to do for several years before med school. Just live like a normal person and work, volunteer, hobbies, travel, etc.

I worked full-time in the field of my degree (not a science) for 3 years before going to med school and I loved it. It was also nice to have some money saved up before taking on loans of med school.

If you want research I would suggest look at local colleges for any positions. If you have any big health systems near you, you can go online and do a job search for research and see if anything is available. What I did is asked a doctor I had shadowed who referred me to another doctor who did research at a medical school and got my in there. Use those connections!

Other options include Teach For America or City Year if you are interested in teaching/mentoring at all. TFA is a two year commitment and City Year is only one year. Also other various AmeriCorps programs are a year long and you can do just about anything with that. Can also look into becoming a CNA. Course cost varies but it's about $800-1000 near me but you'll make that up quickly working for two years.

Don't spend money taking classes you don't feel like taking, make money instead!

Members don't see this ad :)