Sep 19, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi y'all,

I am a Virginia resident, not born, but definitely raised! I attended College at George Mason University (Low ranked National uni) and graduated two years ago. I'd always loved Biology, so I majored in it, but decided to switch tracks to Teacher Prep when I was a Junior as my performance in some classes wasn't so good. That opinion was further cemented in my mind when I took the MCAT and score a 26. I had only studied for one week, as I thought it was similar to preparing for the SATs, and well it wasn't. At graduation, I sat at around a 3.63 cGPA, and a 3.39 sGPA.

Also, throughout college, I developed a great love for traveling, and working in foreign communities, as it helped me come out of my shell. After graduation, I immediately found a great job as a Science Teacher at a Middle School that was just...too good for me! Though at the time, it proved challenging, and is the basis of my personal statement. I eventually got into the groove of things, and at the same time started taking about 6 credits a quarter through Goucher College. I was also studying for my MCAT at this time, so I was busy, busy, busy. At the end of the year, I raised my cGPA to a 3.72 and sGPA to a respectable 3.60. I also scored a 520 on my MCAT, which I have been told is a strong score.

After a year working as a Teacher, I got a Research Fulbright to a European Country...the name of which I am withholding because I was one of two grant winners and it'd just be ridiculously easy to look me up if I disclosed the country's name. Anyways, it's been lovely living in Europe for the past month, and I'm currently working on my personal research project.

To address other areas of my app: I have medical volunteering experience, good shadowing experience, great LOR's, a handful of leadership positions, and 1 published research paper in the field of virology.