Quantcast

## 2008-2009 Application Season ## Post AACOMAS questions HERE!!!

Join BeMo Premed MasterMind Club®
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SimpleMe

New Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Hello DO land~~

I am so glad to be here, chatting with my fellow peers~~ studying hard to get into DO schools =) just so you know.. you really rock!!

Just a few questions, your opinion would be highly wanted and appreciated.

1. I am taking the MCAT in August, if the application is going to be post on June 4th, when should I apply?
2. Can I send in primary without giving my MCAT score?
3. I have got C and BC in my first biology and chemistry class, should I retake these classes before or after the primary?

Thanks for viewing!!!
 

ShyRem

I need more coffee.
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
9,800
Reaction score
133
Well, it seems that time is upon us again. The new folks are wanting earlier information, so let's start the ball rolling. Post all questions relating to AACOMAS etc. here for the 2008-2009 application season.

Good luck y'all!

-ShyRem
 

MLT2MT2DO

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
2,633
Reaction score
404
1,2. Yes you can do your primary without an MCAT score, so ASAP.
3. I'm not sure what a "BC" is, I'm guessing a B-? C+? Either way, if you haven't retaken them by now and you are applying in a month I wouldn't bother retaking at all, I'd save it as something to do if you were unable to get in this cycle.
 

Doc Henry

blowin' in the wind
10+ Year Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
933
Reaction score
4
If anyone has links or copies of secondaries would they mind posting them? I will be on vacation from mid june-mid july and would love to get an early start before I leave.
 

francais7979

french7979
10+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
I have a quick questions for those people who have viewed their AACOMAS Profile.

In the table, where they break down the course record gpa by subject (Biology, Inorganic Chem, Organic Chemistry, Physics), do they avg. the GPA in of a course that was retaken? For example if you took OChem twice once with a C and then A, is the GPA for OChem 4.0 or 3.0??

I am asking this becuse I know that there is grade forgiveness in the Overall GPA and Overall Science GPA, but I am wondering if there is grade forgiveness in the table where the grades for the science courses are brokent down by bio, chem, ochem, physics.

Thanks!
 

307Doc

Full Member
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
183
Reaction score
0
I have a quick questions for those people who have viewed their AACOMAS Profile.

In the table, where they break down the course record gpa by subject (Biology, Inorganic Chem, Organic Chemistry, Physics), do they avg. the GPA in of a course that was retaken? For example if you took OChem twice once with a C and then A, is the GPA for OChem 4.0 or 3.0??

I am asking this becuse I know that there is grade forgiveness in the Overall GPA and Overall Science GPA, but I am wondering if there is grade forgiveness in the table where the grades for the science courses are brokent down by bio, chem, ochem, physics.

Thanks!

They will forgive your retakes (thank goodness). 4.0 for you
 
1

123880

In the case of submitting applications while waiting on a MCAT retake score to come back:

Will the schools wait to make any decision until they see the MCAT score?
Or will they reject based on the stats of the initial application?

I'm thinking it's the first but need someone who's been in it to let me know. This isn't something I want to speculate about.

****

Also, on the AACOMAS website, when entering grades, if we retook a class do we enter both classes and the site weeds out the one to be 'forgiven'? Or do we pick through our transcript and enter just the retakes?

K. I think that's it for now.
 

JMarie

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
In the case of submitting applications while waiting on a MCAT retake score to come back:

Will the schools wait to make any decision until they see the MCAT score?
Or will they reject based on the stats of the initial application?

I'm thinking it's the first but need someone who's been in it to let me know. This isn't something I want to speculate about.

****

Also, on the AACOMAS website, when entering grades, if we retook a class do we enter both classes and the site weeds out the one to be 'forgiven'? Or do we pick through our transcript and enter just the retakes?

K. I think that's it for now.

They definitely won't reject your application if you're waiting for an MCAT score to come in.

Also, enter every single class that shows up on your transcript, even the ones that had to be retaken.

Hope that helps!
 

EEL08

Full Member
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
2,994
Reaction score
1
In the case of submitting applications while waiting on a MCAT retake score to come back:

Will the schools wait to make any decision until they see the MCAT score?
Or will they reject based on the stats of the initial application?

I'm thinking it's the first but need someone who's been in it to let me know. This isn't something I want to speculate about.

****

Also, on the AACOMAS website, when entering grades, if we retook a class do we enter both classes and the site weeds out the one to be 'forgiven'? Or do we pick through our transcript and enter just the retakes?

K. I think that's it for now.


They won't just automatically put your app on hold until they get the new score. You will need to contact the schools and let them know that you would prefer they wait to go over your app with the new score. On AACOMAS, and this is very important, you have to specify your repeat courses because they won't just figure it out. There are instructions for how to list repeat courses. Essentially it will be like this: say you took Chem 1 your first semester of freshman year with a C then took it again second year and got an A.

Chem 1 C Repeat 01
Chem 1 A Last Repeat 01

That's roughly how I remember it being. You will list both the original and the retake and you have to specify both. Hope that helps!
 

Imlost

Full Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
59
Reaction score
0
I want to apply early and was wondering if the Late July MCAT will be consider applying late. I was planning to take the June MCAT, but I feel I might need more time. However, I was wondering if June would be considered late. Thanks, trying to apply for 2009.
 

EEL08

Full Member
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
2,994
Reaction score
1
You will be fine. Once the app opens just fill everything out and submit as soon as you can then have your MCAT score sent to AACOMAS when it comes out. You could also be working on secondaries in the meantime.
 

Punchap

Full Member
Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
580
Reaction score
0
You will be fine. Once the app opens just fill everything out and submit as soon as you can then have your MCAT score sent to AACOMAS when it comes out. You could also be working on secondaries in the meantime.

Yep. This is what I did. I took the July 24th MCAT, prepared my primary app., submitted. Received secondaries and had some interviews scheduled as early as September. Good luck to you! :luck:
 

Bond8204

Anatomy Lab Crasher
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
795
Reaction score
1
At some point, Francais, you've got to relax about this. It's not like you can do anything about it even if there were no grade forgiveness. Start writing your personal statement and write your EC descriptions if you have extra energy to burn. Your GPA will turn out on AACOMAS how it turns out.
 

prionsRbad

Mooooo
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
4
thanks prions. btw, did you see my post in some other random thread about the whole prisons vs prions thing?

Hmmm, I do remember something about people calling me "prisons" a while ago . . . or thinking my name was "prisonsRbad". :laugh: I'll have to go back and look! :D
 

francais7979

french7979
10+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
Sorry guys - I was just very curious. I really appreciate everyones help!
 

Doc Henry

blowin' in the wind
10+ Year Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
933
Reaction score
4
Hmmm, I do remember something about people calling me "prisons" a while ago . . . or thinking my name was "prisonsRbad". :laugh: I'll have to go back and look! :D

yea, it was me...I'm trying to remember what thread it was in...I think I'll just have to look it up
 

Maxwell Edison

Majoring In Medicine
10+ Year Member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
369
Reaction score
2
Hi people. I was wondering if anyone could clue me in to how the Osteopathic App is laid out; i.e., is it a copy of the AMCAS online app? Or do they do things completely differently?
 

Bond8204

Anatomy Lab Crasher
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
795
Reaction score
1
...Why does it matter?
 

RySerr21

i aint kinda hot Im sauna
10+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
5,931
Reaction score
30
for AMCAS/ACOMAS......at what point do you send personal statement? what about LOR? i imagine they are the same for both.
 

theserbatron

put mo' chamomile on it
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
492
Reaction score
7
Hi people. I was wondering if anyone could clue me in to how the Osteopathic App is laid out; i.e., is it a copy of the AMCAS online app? Or do they do things completely differently?

they are similar, you have to enter in all your personal info, your classes, awards/recognitions, your personal statement etc. you send your transcripts and your grades you reported get verified and then it gets sent off. they're different enough to be distinct, but nothing is tricky about it.
 

Jpc984

Full Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2006
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
3
for AMCAS/ACOMAS......at what point do you send personal statement? what about LOR? i imagine they are the same for both.

the LORs are part of the secondary application process. The personal statement is usually part of both.
 

theserbatron

put mo' chamomile on it
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
492
Reaction score
7
for AMCAS/ACOMAS......at what point do you send personal statement? what about LOR? i imagine they are the same for both.

like what Jpc said, you're required to have a personal statement at the primary application for both, one page long essentially addressing the prompt "tell us about yourself/catch our attention/why should we pick you and why do you think you're ready".

when the secondaries come around, they will vary in length and complexity. some will be easy and just ask "why did you apply here?", others will ask you to comment more specifically about your experiences, but again, you'll be writing more and more about yourself.

i think the trick to your secondaries is making sure that you haven't spilled ALL the beans in your personal statement, so when questions come around in your secondary about your motivations, experiences, etc, you still have fresh things to write about. you don't want your answers to secondary prompts to sound EXACTLY like your personal statement.
 

Bond8204

Anatomy Lab Crasher
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
795
Reaction score
1
i think the trick to your secondaries is making sure that you haven't spilled ALL the beans in your personal statement, so when questions come around in your secondary about your motivations, experiences, etc, you still have fresh things to write about. you don't want your answers to secondary prompts to sound EXACTLY like your personal statement.

Agreed...I think there's also an inclination to hang onto secondaries too long--you want to make everything perfect because it could be the last communication you get from the school. Try to fight that inclination and get your secondaries in as soon as humanly possible. I never thought "I wish I had hung onto that secondary longer" but I've definitely thought "I wish I had gotten that secondary in sooner."
 

saylorsdad

OSU-CHS OMSII
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
501
Reaction score
0
Does aacomas roll over our information from this cycle? As I applied this year and will be reapplying in the fall.
 

prionsRbad

Mooooo
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
4
Does aacomas roll over our information from this cycle? As I applied this year and will be reapplying in the fall.

No, sorry. You will also have to re-request your transcripts even if nothing's changed. :(
 

Cp22kjer

Bottom of the Food Chain
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
861
Reaction score
1
I know it opens up June 1st but why do they tease us on the website by saying sometime in May??
 

prionsRbad

Mooooo
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
4
I know it opens up June 1st but why do they tease us on the website by saying sometime in May??

I know! That annoyed the crap out of me last year!

Don't worry, It will come soon enough. Then you'll be so busy and broke from filling our secondaries that you'll wish you could still be enjoying the summer and what life was like before the application year started.

Good Luck! It's the beginning of the the wildest ride of your life! ;) :luck:
 

spazzz

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
518
Reaction score
1
our time is over!

looks like i don't have to check this thread anymore!
 

lsk87

Full Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
121
Reaction score
0
how long did it take you to write your personal statement?
 

TexasTriathlete

HTFU
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
6,211
Reaction score
29
Completely, start to finish, including re-writes and proofreading? ****ing forever.
 

Doc Henry

blowin' in the wind
10+ Year Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
933
Reaction score
4
He's not kidding. I'm in this app cycle too. Started mine in Sept sometime I think...I worked on it four hours and hours, then finally made myself stop because it wasn't going anywhere. Have had a few ppl look over it, gotten some good feedback, but still a long way to go. As of right now I just look at it in disgust. I'm sick of it, read it too many times...it is starting to feel like I'll never get it as good as I want. Grrr...I think you touched on a nerve lol

But seriously, I think it will take another solid few weeks of work. Which would amount to close to 3-4 months of writing and revising.
 

Bacchus

Full Member
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
21,702
Reaction score
3,025
I just had someone on this board read mine and the criticism was extremely constructive. That being said, I have a hell of a lot of overhaul to do because I didn't realize a few things.

That being said, the character limit for AACOMAS is 3000 characters, correct?
 

MedStudentWanna

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
11
I just had someone on this board read mine and the criticism was extremely constructive. That being said, I have a hell of a lot of overhaul to do because I didn't realize a few things.

That being said, the character limit for AACOMAS is 3000 characters, correct?

I believe it's 5000, not 3000.
 

simbalimba

Junior Member
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
120
Reaction score
0
I believe it's 5000, not 3000.

I thought it was 4500 characters including spaces? I had read that the AMCAS PS gives you a limit of 5300 characters including spaces? Could someone please confirm both these numbers?
 

DrMidlife

has an opinion
15+ Year Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
7,506
Reaction score
2,698
how long did it take you to write your personal statement?

I wrote a crappy first draft in about an hour and a half. Had my mom read it (she's gentle and teaches English). Revised it. I then gave it as collateral to my letter writers and got their feedback. Had my shadow docs review it. Then I spent about another 3 hours and tidied it up.

I was relieved that nobody argued with what I was trying to say. The best feedback I got was to not say "I" too much and to make sure the flow was solid.
 

prionsRbad

Mooooo
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
4
I thought it was 4500 characters including spaces? I had read that the AMCAS PS gives you a limit of 5300 characters including spaces? Could someone please confirm both these numbers?

AACOMAS is 4500 characters (including spaces) and AMCAS is 5300 characters (including spaces). :thumbup:
 

Doctor

of Doctors
10+ Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
852
Reaction score
0
Hello, I understand that AACOMAS calculates your GPA given your highest grade in each class (although all grades still appear on the transcript).

But here is my situation: I got an F in French 105, which was an accelerated course covering the material of both French 101 and French 102. Six years later, I took the actual courses French 101 and French 102 and got A-'s in both.

Will AACOMAS know that even though French 105 isn't the exact same course title (Accelerated Elementary French) as French 101 and 102 (Intensive Elementary French), that the F should be replaced by the A-'s in calculating the GPA? Is there any way to petition them to look into it so that it will end up being calculated this way?
 

DrMidlife

has an opinion
15+ Year Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
7,506
Reaction score
2,698
In the AACOMAS app, you can assign a repeat bucket (a "classification") to a set of courses. So for me, for example, over the course of 20 years, I took 1st quarter genchem 3 times. These all got marked "Repeat 01" and only the highest grade is included in GPA calcs.

You might want to try to ask about your situation though, because your F'd class has a lot more units than either class you can designate as a repeat, and you can only pick one. You can't designate "classes B and C replace the grade for class A."

Best of luck to you.
 

matlabsux

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
128
Reaction score
0
hey hey guys. i plan on applying to both do and md schools. I was just wondering if the do schools and md schools talk to eachother. if i have an aacms and aacoms apps going, will that hurt me either way. i'd rather go to md school but honestly i do not care i just wanna be a doctor. will do schools resent it or be able to find out if i have md apps going at the same time? thanks for all your help.

also, if i took the mcat in 2004 and got a 32s, should i just go with it or retake for all those school that require "recent" mcat scores. i've been in the workforce for a few years now and i am not sure i can score so high again.
 

ShyRem

I need more coffee.
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
9,800
Reaction score
133
MCAT scores usually expire after 3 years. There are very few schools that will take an MCAT older than 3years - check around but I'm afraid you'll probably have to retake. Check with each school that's high on your list.

med schools really don't care that you applied to both. Most folks do these days.
 

schussboarder

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
287
Reaction score
7
quick question....i just got a real good research position that starts in august...am i allowed, and does it let me put this on accomas even though ill send out the primary in june?
 

prionsRbad

Mooooo
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
4
quick question....i just got a real good research position that starts in august...am i allowed, and does it let me put this on accomas even though ill send out the primary in june?

I think I remember something about not being able to put future dates down on the AACOMAS activities section, but I'm not positive. :confused:

I guess you could list it as current?

You might have to wait for the application to open in order to see if you can list it.

Good Luck :luck:
 

Gpan

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
676
Reaction score
59
Can I take the MCAT again even though I already have 1 acceptance? It'll be my plan B. The school is not my top choice school. Will this be frown upon by this school or any other schools that I plan to apply again in the next cycle?
 
Top