2021 OAT Breakdown/Timeline/Experience (Score: 400 TS/390 AA)

snpat824

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I finally took the OAT today and I’m very happy, and a bit surprised, by my scores. I started studying in July when I bought the OAT Booster subscription. Overall, I studied from July-September, so 2 months.

Study Materials

OAT Booster (10/10)

Unlike many others on this sub, I essentially only used OAT Booster to study for the exam because I had heard positive things about it from a current optometry student. No Kaplan, no OAT Destroyer, no Quizlet. I split up my studying into two phases: content review, and practice problems/tests. For this, I followed the study schedule guide posted by Booster, where they outline what videos/extra practice problems students should aim to complete each day. Some days focused on watching videos of a particular subject more than the others, while other days were more spread out. I’ll go into more detail about each section, but the only major downside to Booster is they currently don’t have many videos for physics, only some on their YouTube channel. Personally, overall I would say that the actual OAT is much easier than practice resources, including Booster, as many have said on this sub before. I think I can say this about pretty much every section. The concepts are all representative, so it makes the real test seem much easier! So if you are scoring low on many of the practice tests, don’t worry, just keep studying and you’ll likely be pleasantly surprised when you get your actual score.

How I studied