25 and over - Pitt or Buffalo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jetta727

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I've narrowed my choices to either Pitt or Buffalo. I've read some of the posts that compare the two and I'm still trying to decide. I hear Buffalo is cheap and is a great clinical school. Pitt has awesome facilities. I felt more at home during my interview at Pitt but Buffalo is cheaper.

Also, I'm 25. Whoelse is my age or older that decided to go to either of these schools and how did you decide??

Members don't see this ad.

I can try to help you. I've never been to Buffalo, but I'm an undergraduate at the University of Pittsburgh, and I did undergraduate research there last semester. Pitt's a very nice school and Oakland is a very happening city. Tons of things to do. The weather in Pittsburgh also isn't as cold as it is in Buffalo during the winter. And come on, you cant beat our sports teams (Steelers, Penguins...disregard the Pirates), Pittsburghers are fanatical about their sports teams. Its up to you. Go where you feel comfortable.

Go where your gut instinct tells you to go

Buffalo-cheaper. Definitely save lotsa $$$ if you're instate. Good clinical experience.

Pittsburgh-one of the most underrated schools out there. Has a tradition of excellence in healthcare. Also has a very good clinical education from what I've heard and a pretty diverse patient pool. Sim lab is pretty nice.

As a bonus:
---------------------------------------
http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/grad/rankings/med/brief/mdrrank_brief.php

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/health/best-hospitals/honorroll.htm
---------------------------------------

Also, located in a metropolitan area (I like cities, heh).

---Take your pick

Members don't see this ad :)
Pittsburgh runs the scene like james dean