Oct 14, 2014
Hey everyone here are all my credentials:

27 with 8/10/9
3.9 cumulative and science GPA
Volunteered at a hospital for approx. 30 hours
Work as seasonal ER scribe with about 40 hours under my belt so far
Work an on campus job 15-20 hours a week
Have held 3 positions in my fraternity: scholarship chair, philanthropy committee, and secretary which also meant I am on the executive board
Went on a mission trip to Puerto Rico
I am a Louisiana resident and applying to both of the LSU schools.

Thanks in advance for any insight y'all can give me.

baxt1412

5+ Year Member
Oct 29, 2012
Status
Medical Student
have you only considered MD?

are you URM?

get more hospital volunteering.
what about domestic non-clinical volunteering?

shadowing?

the mission trip may be a neutral according to quite a few sources on SDN.

OP
H
Oct 14, 2014
I have looked into DO but not enough to pull the trigger on it this cycle.

Also not sure what URM means, so if you could explain that it would be great.

For shadowing that goes with the volunteering hours I posted and the only non-clinical volunteering I have is really the philanthropy even that I help coordinate for my fraternity.

gyngyn

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
have you only considered MD?

are you URM?

get more hospital volunteering.
what about domestic non-clinical volunteering?

shadowing?

the mission trip may be a neutral according to quite a few sources on SDN.
OP is a resident of Louisiana and goes to Puerto Rico on a "mission"!

baxt1412

5+ Year Member
Oct 29, 2012
Status
Medical Student
OP is a resident of Louisiana and goes to Puerto Rico on a "mission"!
it's either 1) too late, 2) i'm too burned out on studying for the night, or 3) i'm just dumb in the head but i'm just not getting it lol. i don't read too far into most people's posts, including OP's, so...

URM = under-represented minority