3.1 cGPA, 3.1 sGPA, 28Q MCAT, CA resident. What are my chances for DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Syialb

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
According to AACOMAS, I have 3.1cGPA, 3.1sGPA. I have a 28Q MCAT. I'm a CA resident and went to a UC for school.

ECs:

-Hot Meal Kitchen Volunteering, currently doing (~10 hours)
-Hospital ER Volunteering (~130 hours)
-Volunteer Tutor, OChem + GenChem (~120 hours)
-Clinical Rehabilitation Institute Volunteer in India (~50 hours)
-Research, Psychology dept. + Nutrition dept. (~80 hours over 2 quarters)
-Shadowing MD and DO (~100 hours)

The above are my GPAs after some retakes; my undergrad. GPA was much lower. I spent the past year retaking the entire General Chemistry and Organic Chemistry series at a CC and pulled a 4.0 (20 units). Also, this MCAT score was from my second time taking it--the first time was an embarassing number in the very low 20s.

I submitted my AACOMAS primary on 6/18, and just got verified today. What are my chances? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Not gonna lie, it isn't looking pretty. The cGPA is a standard deviation out of the typical Asian applicant. The sGPA is nowhere near the caliber for the top schools. The 28 is actually really good as well as the EC. If you apply broadly, it can happen.

Thank you for the honest feedback Triage! Yeah I agree that my GPAs are my biggest weaknesses, and I'm definitely applying broadly and hoping for the best.

Anyone else want to offer some constructive criticism? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad :)
Id say, while you're not a shoe in anywhere, you have a decent shot at newer and lower stat DO schools.

My advice would be apply wisely, to the schools with lower stats, but continue to take classes and update your GPA as you go.

Id say, while you're not a shoe in anywhere, you have a decent shot at newer and lower stat DO schools.