3.1 gpa, 28M mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mark915

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I just got my MCAT results back and I got a 28M (P: 9, V: 9, B: 10).
I was scoring 31-33 on the practice tests but I guess I totally blew it on the real deal.

My overall GPA is currently at 3.066 (do they round up by any chance?) but I'm hoping it will be a bit higher by the end of my current semester. My math/science GPA is 2.94.
I'm a computer science major and my major GPA is 3.58, but I doubt that counts for anything since computer science is not counted in math/science.

Given these numbers I feel that my chances at any MD school here in the states are slim to none. What do you think of my chances at making it into a DO school? I am a New York resident so I was hoping to apply to schools around here, but at this point I'm willing to go wherever.

For what it's worth, I have a ton of clinical experience. I've been an EEG diagnostic technician since 2008 and have performed diagnostic tests on nearly 800 patients since I started working. I'm in the process of obtaining letters of recommendation from both an MD and a DO that I work with. I've also been volunteering at a nearby hospital and the Alzheimer's Association for the past six months and I'm a member of the Biology Honors Society at my college.

How do you guys think I stand?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone!

I was scoring 31-33 on the practice tests but I guess I totally blew it on the real deal.

My overall GPA is currently at 3.066 (do they round up by any chance?) but I'm hoping it will be a bit higher by the end of my current semester. My math/science GPA is 2.94.
I'm a computer science major and my major GPA is 3.58, but I doubt that counts for anything since computer science is not counted in math/science.