3.13 GPA, MD, is it ever too late to chase big dreams?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nathansaurus

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm 25 and just got back a few weeks ago from a six month stay in spain, working for the government of education. my dream always has been to go to medical school and be a doctor. i have a bachelor's degree in english with a gpa of 3.13. i plan to go back to university, to take all the required science classes and i know that will boost my gpa up. i am fluent in spanish and french, i have studied abroad and volunteered there for a year combined in two different countries. i am currently taking position of president of my university's medical and student doctor association and plan on organizing a lot of public events, such as vaccinations and blood drives. i don't care for science much (biology and pathology are fascinating to me; chem not so much), but i wish to help people, especially after being helpless watching my father suffer two heart attacks during to separate occasions right before my very eyes. i'm very committed and very competitive.

if i keep working hard, along with getting a good mcat score, do i stand a chance to get into med school?

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello there,

First, I would like to applaud your efforts at following your dreams. This persistence for succeeding is what makes for a good medical school candidate.

Raising a GPA is hard work, even if you ace all of your classes. You want to try to have at least a 3.5 GPA to consider applying to MD schools. If you raise it to a 3.3-3.4, you can apply to DO schools. At the end of the day, if your ultimate goal is to help people and fulfill your dream of being a doctor, than either MD or DO should work for you. If you're heart-set on going to an MD school, then try increasing your GPA.