• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

BestDoctorEver

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Sep 26, 2009
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hello,

I graduated in Spring 2011 from a top school in Georgia with a 3.19sGPA (which includes research/teaching for credit, one engineering class, and a biology math models class) and a 3.37cGPA. Could someone please confirm if the above classes falls under the science GPA?

I plan on taking the MCAT in July, but I am not sure if that is too late. Would taking the MCAT in June vs July make a huge difference for me since I have a lower GPA? Also, what score should I aim for on the MCAT given my lower GPA?

I took the MCAT once before, but did HORRIBLE (17) because I did not study for it. But this time I am taking a PR class and plan on studying for a few months. So, should I apply in June with my score of a 17 or wait August when my scores for my July MCAT come out?

I have decent ECs (Biology Teaching Assistant, 50+ shadowing hours, 50+ volunteer hours, 2 semesters of research). I will continue to do more volunteering.

What do you think my chances are for DO school, specifically for PCOM-GA?

I greatly appreciate any input!

Thanks!
27+and you got a shot if other parts of your application are OK...I would apply in June so your application can get verified early. You should mention that you are retaking the MCAT. I dont think taking in July as oppose to June would make a big difference

Sep 4, 2006
The Other Side of the Portal
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I graduated in Spring 2011 from a top school in Georgia with a 3.19sGPA (which includes research/teaching for credit, one engineering class, and a biology math models class) and a 3.37cGPA. Could someone please confirm if the above classes falls under the science GPA?