3.23 cGPA, 3.20 sGPA, 31Q MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ONH

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just got back my MCAT scores from 7/8/10 testing, did much worse than I expected and ended up getting a 31Q. I was averaging around a 34 on my practice tests and was expecting at least a 33 on the MCAT so I'm really disappointed. I really feel that I am capable of a higher score and thus I am considering retaking it in December.

First of all, was wondering if I should apply this cycle or wait until next? I am a VA resident and a rising senior at a large top tier state school. Just got my AMCAS verified GPAs and it's 3.23 cGPA/3.20 sGPA - had a rough year my sophomore year but was 3.7 and 3.5 last two semesters.

I have done research at a couple different labs but no publications. Shadowed a few different doctors for a total of around 50hrs and have 50 hours clinical volunteering experience. Also have a year of weekly non-clinical volunteering. Minor leadership position for 2 years in a student organization and membership in a few others.

I would really like to get into VCU, do you think I should apply with my current scores or wait until next cycle? As a side note, I have done research at the Pharm/Tox department this summer at VCU School of Medicine.

Any other suggestions of where to apply with my stats? Or to wait a year and boost my GPA, ECs, and hopefully MCAT? Do you think it's worth giving it a shot and applying to a couple state schools this cycle since I already submitted my primary app (with 1 school listed)?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you have a chance this season at any US school.