3.39 cGPA/sGPA; MCAT in September.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coriolis

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Chemistry major. Been studying this entire summer for the MCAT, and I'm scoring 35-38 consistently on my practice exams. I'm scheduled for September.

Undergrad GPA had been in solid 3.55 range, but I received a flurry of C's and D's this past year (senioritis?). I graduated, so I'm spending this year off working at a doctor's office and doing lab research.

I'm primarily interested in US MD schools, particularly in New York. I understand my GPA is well below what they are looking for. I'm still interested in what my chances may be, granted I do well on the MCAT.

More information will be given if requested, and suggestions as to what else to do this year will be welcomed.

Thank you.

Edit: I should also note that I will be applying early next year (at latest), and that I am a NYS resident.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Have you already submitted AMCAS primary? If not, I might consider waiting until next cycle. Applying so late will really hurt your chances and your GPA is at the lower end of the spectrum.

Goodluck on the MCAT

Have you already submitted AMCAS primary? If not, I might consider waiting until next cycle. Applying so late will really hurt your chances and your GPA is at the lower end of the spectrum.

Goodluck on the MCAT

I plan on applying next cycle. Early for sure.

Members don't see this ad :)
I plan on applying next cycle. Early for sure.

are you special in any way to make up for your GPA? leadership, shadowing, research credentials, etc.?

edit: if you're not special in any way then your GPA could certainly be a dealbreaker at majority of MD programs IMO.

are you special in any way to make up for your GPA? leadership, shadowing, research credentials, etc.?