3.4 GPA in engineering, will I be at all competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

noideawhattodowithmylife

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this whole thing but I've been thinking a lot lately about medicine. I'm in Biomedical engineering right now at a top tier school but I feel like my grades are too low to be even remotely competitive. 3.41 overall GPA, 3.40 sGPA.

I haven't taken the MCAT yet because I was leaning toward grad school. I do a lot of research and have 2 2nd author publications. I just started my junior year. I have some shadowing and volunteer experience but I'll definitely get more before I apply if I apply.

Help.

Members don't see this ad.

I think the median accepted student has a GPA of 3.6, so just work hard this year and try to pad the GPA to get it to 3.50+ if you can. However, it's hard to know your chances without an MCAT score.

Reactions: 1 users
I think that's around the average for DO schools!

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
For MD, you're not competitive, but you're within the acceptable range.

Be prepared to apply to many schools to cast a wide net. I applied to a bunch and have four interviews and about ten rejections. My numbers are similar but I have a strong post bacc and MCAT score. It's a gamble!

With all due respect to people who have responded previously. The correct answer is, you have not given us enough information to answer the question. I had a 3.4. I interviewed at every top 10 USMD that I applied. Your GPA is one metric, one of the most important, but just one metric. You will not be screened out of any schools because of a 3.4. For starters, this discussion is completely useless without an MCAT score. Engineering major is great and all, but nobody on an admissions committee knows your academic abilities based on a single value (your GPA).