3.4c 3.3s 32MCAT NV resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MooCowJoe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I just gradated with a BS in bio. I've been working since 16. Clinical experience includes hospital volunteering (6 months) and shadowing two different physicians (1.5 months each four days a week). My volunteering includes alternative spring break, boys and girls club, ESL tutoring, tutoring at the school tutoring center, and an after school elementary tutoring program. Also i've been doing research for about 8 months.

Just wanted to know what my chances are. MD? DO?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I just gradated with a BS in bio. I've been working since 16. Clinical experience includes hospital volunteering (6 months) and shadowing two different physicians (1.5 months each four days a week). My volunteering includes alternative spring break, boys and girls club, ESL tutoring, tutoring at the school tutoring center, and an after school elementary tutoring program. Also i've been doing research for about 8 months.

Thanks in advance.

Apply to both. Your stats absolutely do not disqualify you from being competitive at MD schools. I have much lower stats than you (and I'm also a NV resident) and I was able to pull off both MD and DO. PM for more details

I agree. From what ive seen schools tend to value mcat more then gpa anyways. I dont think your gpa is at the point of being too low for MD; you arent that far off.

Members don't see this ad :)
MCAT is great, but GPA is a tad on the low side for MD schools. Suggest trying only the bottom tier of those, and perhaps your state schools, but you're fine for any of the DO schools.

Hello,

Thanks in advance.

Hey thanks for the support guys. I've always just felt like my app would be fine except my GPA is always weighing me down.