3.5 cgpa 3.4 sgpa 29 MCAT Top Tier D.O??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shakes90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a weird Freshman year with a C+ in a bio class
then a very strong upward trend my second year (all My Pre-reqs are A's), and then a downward trend (B's) in my upper level science classes, and this is because I let the MCAT completely break me.

EC's: 3 years of Volunteering at hospital
1 year of volunteering as Sexual Harassment/Domestic Violence Hotline
2 years working as Student Instruction Leader
Currently working to implement a nonprofit organization chapter in my school
1 year of Shadowing
2 Months so far working as receptionist at the ER (current)

My 29 MCAT breakdown: 10B 10V 9B

I want to get into higher level D.O schools because I'd like to land an MD residency
is this possible???
I'm Also a Michigan Resident

Also When writing my personal statement, should I talk about how I learned through failure with the MCAT? or should I not mention it?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you failed in the MCAT. Being from Michigan, I can see MSU being very possible.

If your PS/secondaries don't make you sound like a gigantic tool, and you apply June 1st, I would say you have a very good shot with getting into one of the best DO schools and probably a really good shot at MSU.

And don't mention the MCAT. It is about 2.5 points higher than the average DO matriculant average so addressing the MCAT failure is probably not a good idea and will likely result in rejection. Given the context, it would come across as pretty douche.

Members don't see this ad :)
You look like a good applicant for many institutions.