3.6, 3.3 sGPA, downward trend...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

snowwhat

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone-

I just submitted my application last night, only to wake up with the horrible realization that my sGPA has dropped significantly since freshman year. I'm looking at a 3.8 freshman year, 3.4 sophomore year, and 3.0 junior year. Initially this looks horrible, but a couple of factors play in- 1st semester sophomore year (the semester mainly contributing to the lower sGPA) I was in a very time consuming musical. This is stated in my application but I don't say that it is definitely the main factor in my lower GPA. My junior year, I studied abroad and got a couple of Bs due to a couple of factors (weird grade conversions, different school systems, wanting to enjoy my time abroad, etc.) as well as a B- second semester in orgo. Again, I don't make excuses or say this in my application.

My grades in other classes have been pretty constant (I haven't done the calculating, but I'd say upwards of a 3.7 or 3.8 all or most semesters).

How much do you think this will hurt me? Does anyone know how much med schools look at term by term GPA (and do they mainly look at it on a term or yearly basis?). Also, do you think they will notice these factors contributing to my lower GPA without my having stated it explicitly? (Though perhaps I can find a way to put it into my secondaries, when/if I get them)

I'm still waiting on my MCAT (hoping for a 30-32 based on practices) and have ample leadership (4 positions), clinical (~400 hrs), and research (~300hrs) experience. For what it's worth, I go to a top 20 liberal arts school and think I have above average recs and a great essay.

This is where I am applying (21 in total; I'm from Maryland):
UMD
Georgetown
GW
Cooper
Albert Einstein
Drexel
EVMS
Jefferson
New York Medical College
Penn State
Penn
New Jersey Medical School
Robert Wood Johnson
SUNY