3.6 cGPA 3.5 sGPA 27MCAT and then 33MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ozonelayr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a resident of Nebraska.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You should buy MSAR and look further into the schools you are applying to. Places like UW Madison and University of Washington take barely any applicants out of state that don't have connections to the state. Minnesota also functions like this, but to a slightly lesser extent. Also, if you can afford it, adding some more schools to your list so you apply more broadly would help.

I always get nervous when I see people with more shadowing hrs than actual clinical volunteering. You don't have enough of the latter to be very competitive. the mission trips will be viewed as "medical tourism"

Here's the deal: You need to show AdComs that you know what you're getting into, and show off your altruistic, humanism side. We need to know that you're going to like being around sick or injured people for the next 40 years.

Here's another way of looking at it: would you buy a new car without test driving it? Buy a new suit or dress without trying it on??

We're also not looking for merely for good medical students, we're looking for people who will make good doctors, and 4.0 GPA robots are a dime-a-dozen.

I've seen plenty of posts here from high GPA/high MCAT candidates who were rejected because they had little patient contact experience.

Not all volunteering needs to be in a hospital. Think hospice, Planned Parenthood, Ronald McDonald House, nursing homes, rehab facilities, crisis hotlines, camps for sick children, or clinics.