Apr 6, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
My undergraduate degree is from UC Berkeley, with a major in electrical engineering and computer science.

I have about average to good volunteering experience, and average research experience (no publications, just working in a CS professor's lab).

Other things worth noting:
1. My GPA trend looks like a V basically. I had one semester of 1.7 or so in there due to depression, but didn't ask for a withdrawal (because when you are depressed, you kinda just dont give a ****). My other semesters are mostly 3.8+ to have a 3.6 cumulative.
2. I struggled with personal health related problems when I was a teenager, but I'm not sure if that's enough of a "hook" or "story" to get into med school.
3. I majored in something that's relatively unrelated because I didn't know what I wanted to do.

Basically, I would really like to know if I have a reasonable chance to get into: 1. a U.S. MD program; 2. a California MD program.

Thank you very much in advance.

bravofleet4

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 17, 2009
Status
Medical Student
of course, you have a very good chance of getting into an M.D. school just apply broadly. whether or not your story will be a hook just depends on how well you convey its bearing on your decision to enter into medicine. the important part is to be as sincere as possible though because your motivations for entering medicine will be questioned.

CaliGirl14

No worries.
Removed
7+ Year Member
Dec 26, 2009
TBH, California schools are crap shoots. However, I do know they like extensive ECs. Perhaps you can get that going? Other than that, I'm sure you could manage to get into a US MD school with some clinical volunteering at hand. Nice MCAT btw.

LuciusVorenus

Bad Medicine
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 14, 2009
Status
Medical Student
If you can explain the 1.7 in your PS you should be fine. I think you have a good chance at a US school. California, it's hard to say. What exactly are your ECs?

Apr 3, 2010
Status