3.63 overall 3.53 sgpa and 29Q MCAT + extra curriculars

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cali49ersfan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I've never posted anything before but I'd like to thank everyone beforehand for their responses.

So I am a California resident and I really want to attend an MD school. My first two years, I had a 3.2 gpa both science and overall and I took my MCAT and received a ridiculously low MCAT of 21Q. Since that moment I tried to refocus and turn around everything. I finished my last two years of undergrad pretty strong with at least a 3.7 gpa each quarter and I retook my MCAT and received a 29Q the second time. I wish I did better thou.

My EC's include:

- Volunteering over 400 plus hrs (both in clinical setting and with under-served individuals such as the homeless since I was a freshman).
- Research as undergraduate with prostate cancer for 1 1/2 years.
- Employed as a research technician during my current year off.
- President of a pre-health club on campus (includes multiple leadership roles before this one). involved for 3 yrs
- Peer Mentor to incoming freshman for 1 yr
- Teaching Assistant for 1 quarter
- Pre-Medical Advising Workshop Leader for 1 yr
- Graduated with Honors in my Major.

Stats Again:

3.63 overall gpa, 3.53 sgpa and 29Q MCAT retake

Members don't see this ad.

I don't really know anything about Cali schools, but unless you are dead set on staying in California for med school I would say apply very broadly and strategically and you will probably get quite a few interviews. (Cali schools are very very difficult for average applicants to get into from what I hear)