3.65 GPA 30Q MCAT Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cark

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks for reading and helping me out!

I'm a California student at a UC with a 3.65 GPA (approximately the same for science GPA) and a 30Q MCAT score (10 physical, 11 verbal, and 9 biological sciences). I'm majoring in Bioengineering. My grades have been making an upward trend. Freshman and sophomore year I didn't realize that I wanted to be a doctor, and my grades reflected that. Junior year I've been getting A's in everything I've taken so far. I have also made the dean's list several times.

The 9 in bio seemed rather odd, given that I've aced every single bio class I've taken. Would that work in my favor in the application process?

I have 120+ hours volunteering in a hospital ICU. I also volunteered during one summer in a rural Indian leprosy colony for a little less than a month (one of the more fulfilling activities in my life). I promptly joined the leadership board of the club with whom I went to this colony with when I got back to college.

I've also had solid research experience as a full time research assistant for an entire summer (so that puts it at about 320 hours of research). I also have a publication pending.

Does anyone know medical schools where I'd be competitive at, or at least have a decent chance of getting interviews? I appreciate your consideration!

- cark

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your ECs appear to be on the sparse side from what you've shared. You might give consideration to waiting a year to apply to beef them up further, besides raising your cGPA. You didn't menton your BCPM GPA.

Based on stats alone, with a 3.65/30, some schools you might check for "fit" that have a decent OOS matriculation rate (per the 2011-2012 MSAR):

UIllinois, Wayne, Buffalo, Toledo, UNebraska, Drexel, Temple, Vermont, VCU, Virginia Tech Carilion (newer),