3.66 cGPA, 3.40 sGPA, 31S MCAT (PS 10/ BS 10/ VR 10)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heliscomo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Do you have any physician shadowing or nonmedical community service?

Are you a US permanent resident/green card holder, a dual citizen, or will you be considered an International applicant to US schools?

Do you remain engaged with your ethnic communiity in some way? Are you a native Spanish speaker?

Why is your BCPM GPA on the low side? The cGPA and MCAT scores are right at the averages for those accepted.

Members don't see this ad :)
So I'm a NY resident, senior at a private university in NYC and graduating with a BA in History. I plan to apply to schools only in the Northeast (NY, NJ, CT, PA, MA, possibly Canada as well or as far south as Washington DC). I have a long list of schools I am interested in applying to, including most of the public schools in NY.

Stats
cGPA: 3.66
sGPA: 3. 40
MCAT: 31S ( PS 11/ BS 10/ VR 10) ***error in the title, it's 11 PS

3 different summer research projects (different summers) with 2 published papers coming out of them in which I am listed as an author
EMT certification and experience with a student club at school
senior editor of an undergrad medical journal at my school
very long history as a competitive figure skater (including two years of undergrad)

I am also Hispanic, which I think is considered a URM here. I am mostly interested in staying in the NY area (preferably NYC :)) but I am a Canadian citizen and school there is MUCH cheaper so I am considering a few. My tentative least (which I know has quite a few "reaches") is as follows:

NY: NYU, SUNY Downstate, Syracuse, SUNY Stonybrook, Buffalo, Albany, Einstein, Mount Sinai, Cornell
NJ: UMDNJ (Newark and New Brunswick)
CT: UConn?
PA: Drexel, Jefferson, Temple
MA: Boston U?
Washington DC: George Washington