3.68/35 Help With School List

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

areserine

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Deleted for app season, feel free to PM.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Full Disclosure- I posted a similar thread about 6 months ago with a heavy emphasis on NYC schools and other big cities. I've come to realize that I will not be happy living in a huge city, and prefer smaller cities with a car and access to nature. Therefore, my schools have changed significantly since then. I would greatly appreciate advice on this list.

I am a non-URM FL resident student who graduated from a top 10 liberal arts college in 2013. If someone were to actually look though, they would see that my parents retired there after I graduated hs, and that all my ties are basically in MA.

I am currently in the middle of my first of two gap years doing bench research at a highly regarded institution. I studied abroad twice.

Stats

3.68 cumulative, 3.65 science (3.2 Freshman year, 3.7, 3.76, 3.84 subsequent years)

35 MCAT (10, 13, 12)- May 2013

30 MCAT (9, 10, 11)- September 2012

LORs

1 letter from science professor and academic adviser- took two classes with him, one team based (very close to PBL) in which I was a good team member and leader, and another that he teaches “at the graduate school level” in which I was one of the top students in the class

1 letter from science professor from a study abroad program. This professor traveled with the program and knows me very well individually and as a top student academically on the program

1 letter from PI that will be very strong- will have been working here for at least 8 months by the time the letter is requested. I have already been added to a paper and work on my own projects regularly as well as assisting postdocs whenever possible.

1 letter from varsity coach from college. This letter will speak to my role as a hard worker and team player.