3.72 cGPA 511 MCAT, MD or DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr1dr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My cum GPA is a 3.72, BCPM is around 3.55
Took the MCAT twice: 507 - 125, 129, 127, 126
508 - 127, 126, 127, 128
taking the highest score it would be: 511 - 127, 129, 127, 128
I am a CT resident and would love to go UConn
I have shadowed and volunteered in a medical and non medical setting, many leadership positions, have done research in 3 labs and have been on 6 posters, and am taking a gap year to work and do more research.

What are my chances? If I get my application in as early as possible do I have chances for low tier schools or should I apply for DO schools instead??

Members don't see this ad.

My cum GPA is a 3.72, BCPM is around 3.55
Took the MCAT twice: 507 - 125, 129, 127, 126
508 - 127, 126, 127, 128
taking the highest score it would be: 511 - 127, 129, 127, 128
I am a CT resident and would love to go UConn
I have shadowed and volunteered in a medical and non medical setting, many leadership positions, have done research in 3 labs and have been on 6 posters, and am taking a gap year to work and do more research.

What are my chances? If I get my application in as early as possible do I have chances for low tier schools or should I apply for DO schools instead??
Very few school cherry pick scores this way (e.g.Vandy).
The AAMC recommends averaging multiple scores.
You can consider schools with a median of 30 to be targets.

Reactions: 1 users
Schools will see you as basically having a 508. Honestly if you really wanted to then you could skip DO this cycle and see how MD turns out because you are good for any DO school. I would apply broadly to MD and if you don't get any II or acceptances then apply DO next cycle

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)