Sep 24, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello

I have worked on my school list and would like any help with adding or deleting schools as well as any other input in regards to things I can improve in the next 6 months till I apply. Thank you for your help.

I am a non-URM NY resident student at an Ivy League university.

Stats

3.76 cumulative, 3.80 science
42 MCAT (14, 14, 14)

LORs

1 letter from non-science professor who knows me since this fall semester and I will take another class with him in spring. I was a good participant in his class and worked to develop a good rapport with him

1 letter from PI (science) who seems to like me and should know me quite well by the time I ask him

And, a work in progress, 1 letter from a science professor who I will have to get to know this upcoming semester through office hours

So the LOR writers will only have known me from this fall semester / spring semester even though I'm a junior. the reason for this is because I just transferred schools.

Research

I just started working in a lab this fall semester. I am the only undergrad on the team with my PI and another postdoc so it is very busy (more than 15 hours a week) and I expect that I will really get to know my PI very well. I do not expect any publications or presentations before I apply. When I submit AMCAS in June I would have about 7 months of research experience.

Non Clinical Extracurriculars

After school volunteer since October - I'm not sure about the hours because I have to check my log since it was done on and off
SAT tutor in upcoming spring semester - 5 hour/wk commitment
Officer for community health club at my old school (2 years), 2 hours a week
Former member of an aviation club, took flight lessons and ground school during freshman year (~ 1 hour a week)
Student Conduct Board member (appointed by school's Provost) for freshman year

Clinical Extracurriculars