3.77 cGPA; 3.75 sGPA; 41T

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blkeydfu8er

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I've decided to apply to medical school next summer! Here is the break down of my GPA and MCAT:

Freshman year: 3.12
Sophomore year: 4.0
Junior year: 4.0
Senior year: 4.0

Cumulative: 3.77
Science: 3.75

MCAT: 14P, 13V, 14B, T (41T)

As you can see, my freshman year GPA really sucks! I guess it was a mixture of goofing off, new found freedom, procrastination and an insanely difficult chemistry professor (I received a C- in Gen Chem II:( But I made it up [I guess...] with As in Organic I and II).

All my my ECs are excellent, I have ample research, and one publication.

I'm a VA resident and here are some of my top choices:
Hopkins
UCLA
Baylor
University of Virginia
University of Maryland
Columbia, Duke
UPenn (my father did his fellowship here, but I doubt that counts for much)
Stanford
Georgetown
Wakeforest
Yale
WashU
Vanderbilt
Cornell
Northwestern
Emory
University of Alabama - Birmingham
NYU

Now, I'll obviously apply to more saftey schools, but these schools here are just the ones I would love to attend.

What do you think my chances are for these schools, especially Hopkins, UCLA, and Baylor (my top three:)) Will my horrible, horrible, freshman GPA crush my chances?

I would appreciate any comments/criticisms please!

Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

depending on your ec's, volunteer, you obviously have a great shot at your top 3; that being said, everyone that applies to those schools has great stats, so its a crapshoot. You honestly should probably retake gen chem 2 tho.

Considering your substantial research activity and the redeeming value of the terrific MCAT score, I'd say you pretty much have a decent shot wherever you care to apply, if you have the usual additional extracurriculars of shadowing, clinical experience/community service, and some leadership.