3.8 gpa, 35 MCAT, WF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Numba1Plumma

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a good gpa/MCAT, two publications, double major, but a WF at a community college from freshmen year.
Other activities are fairly decent
- help assistant coach a sports team
- volunteering
- leadership in an organization
- tutoring/taing
- solid research

I'm a California resident so...
UC Davis
UC Irvine
UC San Fran
UC Los Angel
UC San Diego
USC

and I have relatives in Illinois so...
Northwestern
U of C
Loyola
Rush
Rosie

and for fun...
Harvard
Johns Hopkins
Columbia
etc.

My main concern is the WF; it hurts my gpa obviously, but my gpa is still solid, so shold I really be concerned about this WF that much? I got it at a community college, and my transcript from my undergrad doesn't even have it on there, but I'm submitting it to AMCAS nonetheless. Will those top tier schools screen me out b/c of the WF or will my gpa just take the hit and I may get a few questions about it in interviews. I have an explanation but unless asked, I wont really mention it :)

Members don't see this ad.

If that 3.8 includes the WF, then I don't think you have much to worry about. Sure you might be asked what happened, but you more than redeemed it in every other way.

If you had a good reason for the failure, and have documentation, did you consider petitioning the CC to convert the grade to a W?

I think your "for fun" schools are real long-shots, but I think you have a good chance at getting into a California school (but probably not SF) or maybe one of the IL schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think WF = withdraw/fail (0.0).

At first, I thought OP was giving her sociodemographic stats.