3.85 cGPA, 3.79sGPA, 29 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

klr0020

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just got my MCAT score back and was a bit surprised to see only a 29. I had consistently been making 32-35 on the many practice tests I had taken. Now I can't decide whether it will be more to my advantage to retake the MCAT and apply later in the application process or apply as early as possible with the 29. I haven't studied at all since taking the test in April though. Any suggestions???

Also, I'm an AL resident and am looking to stay in state. The two schools in state have median scores of 30 and 31.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Just got my MCAT score back and was a bit surprised to see only a 29. I had consistently been making 32-35 on the many practice tests I had taken. Now I can't decide whether it will be more to my advantage to retake the MCAT and apply later in the application process or apply as early as possible with the 29. I haven't studied at all since taking the test in April though. Any suggestions???

Also, I'm an AL resident and am looking to stay in state. The two schools in state have median scores of 30 and 31.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Generally speaking improving your score from a 29 to a 32-35 will have a significant impact on the competitiveness of your application. If you are planning on taking it in July/August I think you still will be in good shape time-wise. Being complete in September is a little on the later side but the benefits of moving your score from a 29 to a 32-35 will outweigh those negative aspects. The key here, however, is that you must improve your score.