3.89 GPA 33P MCAT Need Application Assistance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

breakwithhate

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate student who is currently applying to medical school, and up until two days ago, I wasn't even considering applying out of state. A friend of mine told me I have the scores necessary to be applying to better schools, and told me to look for advice on this forum.

I am a Texas resident, and have currently applied to all the Texas allopathic schools (Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Tech at El Paso, UTMB, UT Houston, UT San Antonio, and UT Southwestern). Once I submit my AMCAS, I'm applying to Baylor as well, but I am holding back from submitting my AMCAS until I figure out which out of state schools I want to apply to.

I don't want to shoot out of my range, as up until now I've been scared ****less about even getting into a Texas school. Based upon a preliminary amount of research, I am currently considering applying to Northwestern, UC Davis, and UC Irvine. I am looking to have a total of 8 out of state medical schools, and figured this would be a good place to get advice on additional schools I should apply to, as well as whether the three I've been looking at may not be a match.

The main reason I need help, is that even though my scores may match some schools, I believe I am lacking when it comes to my extracurriculars and my hospital experience, which may mean certain schools my scores may match may not fit my extracurriculars...so please take into account a slightly lower than average amount of extracurricular activity...

Thanks for all the help, sorry for the long entry.

On a side note, I'm looking to submit my AMCAS soon, so all help I can get, as soon as possible, will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.