3.9 cgpa/3.9 sgpa/ 24 mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

het het

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Completely crashed on verbal (scored 5-6 points lower overall than average of AAMC) with a 5 on VR (10/5/9 = 24) :mad:. I guess I did however do well on the writing prompts. I don't want to give up my dream of medicine because of a 70 minute verbal sectiont

EC's are strong and LOR(s) are extremely strong. I am an Illinois resident, who would prefer to not go DO or Carib, do I have any shot at any MD programs this cycle? Any reccomendations for schools?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

None. Save the money. Unless you raise your MCAT, you don't have a chance. In fact, you 5 in verbal would probably keep you out of all but a few DO schools. Easy fix though so that is a plus. Good luck on raising your score.

Completely crashed on verbal (scored 5-6 points lower overall than average of AAMC) with a 5 on VR (10/5/9 = 24) :mad:. I guess I did however do well on the writing prompts. I don't want to give up my dream of medicine because of a 70 minute verbal sectiont

EC's are strong and LOR(s) are extremely strong. I am an Illinois resident, who would prefer to not go DO or Carib, do I have any shot at any MD programs this cycle? Any reccomendations for schools?

Thanks.

No shot. Save your money and retake the MCAT. You'll need to score higher on every section (30+) to have a decent chance at MD schools. Having a 3.9, but scoring <30 on the MCAT might make some people wonder how legitimate or rigorous your undergrad program was.

Members don't see this ad :)
None. Save the money. Unless you raise your MCAT, you don't have a chance. In fact, you 5 in verbal would probably keep you out of all but a few DO schools. Easy fix though so that is a plus. Good luck on raising your score.